Annual Awards presented and Annual Review

1220 (March) Squadron Air Training Corps recently held its annual Presentation Evening. The event consisted of the presentation of annual awards, and a review of the year by the Squadron Commander, Fg Off T Kightly.

The award winners pictures with Sqn Ldr Bower RAFAC

The awards were presented by former Officer Commanding Bedfordshire and Cambridge Wing, Squadron Leader P Bower RAFAC, and Neale-Wade Academy Assistant Principal, Mr Theo Boyce.

During the review of the year, the audience heard some statistics around the achievements of the Squadron in 2019. Particularly of interest were the Duke of Edinburgh Award Statistics:

Nine cadets completed the pre-DofE award in 2019 and have been presented with a blue badge to wear on their brassard. They are Corporal Gatty, and cadets Gowler, Freeland, Mayes, Furness, Sousa, Bradshaw, Palmby and Anders.

Seven cadets completed their Bronze DofE awards in 2019. They are Corporal Gatty and cadets Lamb, Brownlie, Murray, Eves, Martin and Manze.

Three cadets were presented their Silver award. They were corporals Lynch-Cotter, Allcock and Baxter.

Sergeant Liam Hill completed his Gold Award. He is currently awaiting his invitation to attend Buckingham Palace to be formally presented his award.

The annual awards as presented, are below

Gold DofE Pin BadgeSergeant Liam Hill
Darts CompetitionCadet Joshua Mayes
Table Tennis CompetitionSergeant Liam Hill
Sqn Cdrs Attendance CupCadet Theo Freeland
Jason Wing Shield for the Highest Examination ResultsSergeant Liam Hill
Keane Shield for Best New RecruitCadet Faith Anders
Best Overall ShotFlight Sergeant Jordan Mayes
Inter-flight Drill CompetitionB Flight
Most Improved ShotCorporal Isabel Stimson
George Cross Memorial Trophy for Citizenship and Work in the CommunitySergeant Liam Hill
The Readshaw Cup awarded the Sport Cadet of the YearSergeant Liam Hill
The Mayors Diamond Jubilee Trophy for Adventure TrainingCorporal Felicity Allcock
The David Turner Memorial Trophy for MusicSergeant Liam Hill
Inter-flight CompetitionB Flight
Caldwell Lodge Trophy for the Most Improved CadetCorporal Isabel Stimson
The Junior Challenge CupCadet George Martin
Bower Challenge Trophy for Best Cadet of the YearFlight Sergeant Lauren Thompson